Handgunhunt

Did you handgun or bowhunt first?

Posted By: DakotaElkSlayer

Did you handgun or bowhunt first? - 05/15/2005 4:16 PM

Just curious on this... I am relatively new to bowhunting. That "close and personal" relationship to the prey in bowhunting compelled me to buy a pistol this spring for hunting during rifle season this year.
I LOVE shooting my bow, but I haven't shot more than twice since my revolver arrived. I have become totally addicted to shooting and reloading this thing!!!

Jim
Posted By: magman

Re: Did you handgun or bowhunt first? - 05/15/2005 7:36 PM

I started off with bowhunting cuz, handgun hunting wasn't allowed where I was stationed(New Jersey). Now that I am in New York, the handgun mecca by the way, I hunt with both. I find myself practicing more frequesntly with my handgun an with my bow, just cause I like shooting my handguns. I always get plenty of bow practice before season, but I don't shot year round like I do with my handguns.
Posted By: 7STDUBBERU

Re: Did you handgun or bowhunt first? - 05/15/2005 7:56 PM

I also started bowhunting first, just because of my age. Then not now . I love shooting my Matthews but the handguns, actually all guns win out as far as "practice". But there is nothing like sending an arrow thru the rib cage of a nice whitetail buck. But then again it is nice to let the air out of a buck with a peestol shooting my handloads.... Boy I can't wait for October. I am going to watch a Realtree video to get my whitetail fix
Posted By: Tigger

Re: Did you handgun or bowhunt first? - 05/15/2005 11:25 PM