Handgunhunt

Hi Yall...Newbie Here. Pistol scope question

Posted By: JeremyT

Hi Yall...Newbie Here. Pistol scope question - 06/15/2010 8:51 PM

Hi guys

I've been lurking here for a few weeks. I'm no stranger to the hunting groups. I'm 32 and have grown up hunting fishing and trapping in Missouri. I have had my Conceal & carry permit for about 5 years and shoot alot.

I am however new to handgun hunting other than dispatching trapped critters with a .22 during trapping season.

I recently bought this Taurus 608 in .357. My plan is to work up a nice 158 gr. handload and bring a little excitment back to deer season.

The scope shown is an NCStar 4x32. The first thing I did is jerk that hunk of junk scope off and get rid of it. I'm not sure if I will put a scope on or just keep shooting it the way it is but if I do I think I'll go with the plain pistol scope over the reddot.

Here is my question....Can I get a decent quality scope for around $100 if so which brand and type do you guys recommend?

Also what is the average magnification on most pistol scopes?
This 4 power seemed like too much to me ..All I could see was how much I was shaking.

Posted By: wtroper

Re: Hi Yall...Newbie Here. Pistol scope question - 06/15/2010 9:05 PM

Used Leupold or Burris 2X. You may eventually go on to 4X. But start with a quality 2X. I have several that I have pulled off revolvers & replaced with 4Xs.
Posted By: ClayFHT

Re: Hi Yall...Newbie Here. Pistol scope question - 06/15/2010 9:06 PM

For the price range, a 2x Simmons or Weaver would be my pick. Or you might check around and find a used Leupold.
Posted By: wapitirod

Re: Hi Yall...Newbie Here. Pistol scope question - 06/15/2010 10:18 PM