Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Contender Bi-pod #131585 04/22/2013 1:08 AM
DeerDad Offline OP
enthusiast
OP Offline
enthusiast
I working to gather a few things a little at a time for a trip out west hunting. I have seen several contenders and encores with bi-pods on them. Is it preferred to have a barrel mount or swivel stud mounted bi-pod. I have no experience with bi-pods. I am looking at a pronghorn then a mule deer trip. I also have to work on getting into better shape as well. Also how much ammo should I bring? I am thinking about bringing both my 375jdj and 30-30 with 100 rounds each.

Re: Contender Bi-pod [Re: DeerDad] #131586 04/22/2013 1:18 AM
s4s4u Offline
Shootist
Shootist
I would recommend a portable rest over a bipod. I would never attach anything to the barrel but the forend.

Rod, too.

Short cuts often lead to long recoveries.
Re: Contender Bi-pod [Re: s4s4u] #131599 04/22/2013 11:18 AM
Dan B. Offline
Distinguished Expert
Distinguished Expert
 Originally Posted By: s4s4u
I would recommend a portable rest over a bipod. I would never attach anything to the barrel but the forend.

I agree. A backpack and shooting stick of some sort would be best for the Contender/Encore platform.

Also, 100 rounds would be plenty unless you plan on missing a bunch!

Exodus 20:5-11
Matthew 5:18
Revelation 22:14

ISPBS--Expert Level

Please don't use e-mail, contact me w/ PM.
Re: Contender Bi-pod [Re: Dan B.] #131606 04/22/2013 8:18 PM
wapitirod Offline
Shootist
Shootist
I've used both types of mounts but also prefer shooting sticks. I've use barrel mounts on a couple of Contender pistols and on an a AK47 and none showed any accuracy issues, all shot MOA and my 7-30 I had it on shot 1/2 MOA. Thoretically it is possible to alter the barrel harmonics and affect accuracy which is why the sling stud mount style is preferred.