Handgunhunt

The Best Hunting Revovler

Posted By: coachA

The Best Hunting Revovler - 03/05/2013 7:03 PM

I am new to handgun hunting looking to purchase a new one. I would to know what all of your prefferences are and why, when it come to a revolver? I know a single shot has its advantages but I am really looking for a revolver. I wuold like to know what action would be the best? What action is the most acurrate? I am fimilar with pistols but not really a hunting pistol. I like the 44 mag for everything I will be doing and the ease of finding ammo.
Posted By: wtroper

Re: The Best Hunting Revovler - 03/05/2013 7:40 PM

CoachA,

You will find many opinions here about what is the best. Most hunting revolvers are single action (Rugers, BFRs, Freedom Arms); however, the double action revolvers (S&W, Colt, Taurus??) have their followers. IMHO it depends upon which feels better to you.

I am not sure that one action is more accurate than another. I prefer Freedom Arms single action revolvers for their inherent accuracy and the shape of the grip. However, I have an old S&W M57 that will almost shoot with my best FAs.

I am sure that you will get numerous responses to your question. You might also look at some of the older threads as these topics have been discussed before.

Re: The Best Hunting Revovler - 03/05/2013 7:46 PM

I have tried to find some threads on here that could answer my questions. If you can tell me the name of some of the threads that I need to look at, I would greatly appreciate it.
Posted By: Aaron Proffitt

Re: The Best Hunting Revovler - 03/05/2013 7:47 PM

Man, talk about subjective . Lol. Personally, I like revolvers with barrels under 6". Single action. They just handle like I think a handgun should. Start getting to big, and it begins to become harder to manage . If that makes sense.

Re: The Best Hunting Revovler - 03/05/2013 8:24 PM