Handgunhunt

Expanding vs. Hardcast- difference in where to aim

Posted By: Badubet

Expanding vs. Hardcast- difference in where to aim - 02/28/2015 2:01 PM

So I'm looking for information from the seasoned guys on here. I have no experience in shooting game with hard cast bullets. I have been shooting paper in the last year and feel confident that I want to try my luck at hunting with Hardcast. I will be using the 45lc and maybe a 475L or 500L too. Hope to hunt whitetail, hogs, and maybe a black bear. I know the Hardcast maybe over kill. Do I shoot the standard spot to take out the vitals like an expanding bullet or go for the shoulder to break them down first?
Posted By: Whitworth

Re: Expanding vs. Hardcast- difference in where to aim - 02/28/2015 2:46 PM

You're not shot limited with the hard cast bullet. It's nice knowing you can punch through any part of the animal. They break bones well, so I like high shoulder shots that break the animal down.
Posted By: REDHAWK1954

Re: Expanding vs. Hardcast- difference in where to aim - 02/28/2015 3:33 PM

Whitworth, would you say that this is true even with a 357 mag?
Posted By: wvhitman

Re: Expanding vs. Hardcast- difference in where to aim - 02/28/2015 5:25 PM

Shoulder blades X3. The shattered bones are projectiles of their own and do additional damage.
Jacketed: in .475L only the 275 gr. X works great on deer. It's really beyond great-4to6" internal damage, 3" exits. Horn. XTPs, Gold Dots are too hard to perform well on deer for immediate reaction. They'll die, but in a while. Nice thing about the X is that it won't break up on deer. Do a shoulder shot and you get all the extra help from the bones. Do a lung shot and the hydrostatic forces from that massive HP does extremely good.
Posted By: dhom

Re: Expanding vs. Hardcast- difference in where to aim - 02/28/2015 7:21 PM