Handgunhunt

Punch Bullet

Posted By: TM

Punch Bullet - 08/30/2017 5:03 PM

The Punch Bullet, better than cast?? No harm to bore of the gun?
Posted By: sixshot

Re: Punch Bullet - 08/30/2017 5:30 PM

I have no actual experience with the Punch bullet but I have a lot of experience with cast so I'm a bit prejudice but the truth is no cast bullet can stand up to solid metal when the going gets tough. If you are shooting "really" big stuff the Punch is better.
As far as wear on your barrel you could only wish to be lucky enough to wear one out shooting Punch bullets, that would take a whole lot of shooting!
Other's will come on board with actual experience using the Punch bullet that will back this up. Hard cast bullets are very good but again, going head to head against really big game spend a little extra money & leave out the guess work.

Dick
Posted By: Whitworth

Re: Punch Bullet - 08/30/2017 6:14 PM

Originally Posted By: TM
The Punch Bullet, better than cast?? No harm to bore of the gun?

Yes. They maintain their integrity seemingly no matter what they hit. No harm to the bore that I have witnessed or heard of.
Posted By: 45MAN

Re: Punch Bullet - 08/30/2017 7:06 PM

I AM HOLDING A 452 PUNCH BULLET IN MY HAND THAT I RECOVERED FROM THE LAST CAPE BUFFALO I SHOT, OTHER THAN SOME RIFLING MARKS THE BULLET IS LIKE NEW. I WAS USING IT IN 454 CASES OUT OF A 12 INCH FREEDOM ARMS REVOLVER, AND VELOCITY WAS IN THE 1,625 fps RANGE. IT IS ALSO A VERY ACCURATE LOAD. SINCE I DO NOT PLINK WITH THESE BULLETS I AM NOT CONCERNED ABOUT BORE WEAR.
Posted By: jamesfromjersey

Re: Punch Bullet - 08/30/2017 7:21 PM

from my experience it is the best penetrating solid handgun bullet there is.... As Sixshot says above "it would take a whole lot of shooting" to wear out the barrel.... A REAL lot of shooting....
Posted By: Chance Weldon

Re: Punch Bullet - 08/30/2017 10:53 PM

To those of you that have used Punch bullets, at what point would you choose to switch to them over hardcasts?