Handgunhunt

Blackhawk Sights and Tired eyes Help

Posted By: dasbear

Blackhawk Sights and Tired eyes Help - 11/13/2009 10:52 PM

I went shooting this morning with a new model blachawk 6 1/2"and quickly discovered my eyes are very tired. both front and rear sight were blury and difficult to line up consistently. Im wondering what my sight options are for this 1986 41 mag as it appears there isn't any way to remove the front blade? I was thinking of a colored outline on the groove and blade might help but not really sure.

Patrick
Posted By: Renster of N.H.

Re: Blackhawk Sights and Tired eyes Help - 11/14/2009 12:14 AM

Patrick,

That sight blade is removable. Just not the way you're thinking. I too have a 6 1/2" Blackhawk - 2006 vintage - that has the tall front blade. I've been using it as is for a couple of years, but my eyes are not what they used to be either, and I don't think they are going to improve. I do a whole lotta hunting with my revolver so after this deer season I will likely take it to my smithy and have him grind the blade down to the base, cut a nice dovetail through the base, and slide in a white or gold bead for me. We discussed it after I saw a Super Blackhawk that he did and I like the look of it as well as the more precise sight picture the bead provides. I know I've seen one of the guys here on the forum post a pic of a similar job and it was really neat. It's not a big job for a good smith. Have you a good smithy around?

Renster
Posted By: H2OBUG

Re: Blackhawk Sights and Tired eyes Help - 11/14/2009 12:23 AM

You could drill and Tap it for a 2X scope

Re: Blackhawk Sights and Tired eyes Help - 11/14/2009 12:24 AM

Yes, two that come to mind immediatly are David White and mike bellm but I'm not sure of their present workload. I will also check around the local Snohomish county area here in Washington as well.
Posted By: Rick

Re: Blackhawk Sights and Tired eyes Help - 11/14/2009 12:28 AM