Handgunhunt

Red Dot advice on my S&W 629

Posted By: andycap1983

Red Dot advice on my S&W 629 - 11/07/2011 11:15 PM

Hi Everybody! I've recently discovered this site and am loving it! I would like to ask for advice.

I have a new to me S&W 629 6 1/2" that I want to put some type of red dot optic on. My original leaning was to put a micro red dot on (C-More STS, the Burris Fastfire, the Ultradot L/T...). I have no experience with the micro "Heads Up" type of red dot so I want to ask for advice or opinions, positive or negative.

The only red dot experience I have is a tube style Bushnell on a .41 Blackhawk and a tube style Millet on my Mark II.

Thanks,
Andrew
Posted By: s4s4u

Re: Red Dot advice on my S&W 629 - 11/07/2011 11:45 PM

I use both styles. It will take a bit of practice getting the dot in the window of the mini-dots quickly, under pressure, as there is no tube to guide your eye. The main thing to remember is to initially get your head down as if shooting irons and then bring your head up until the dot appears in the window. I had a tendency to overlook the sight at first but it comes in beautifully for me now. I took a grouse in the neck with my Bisley 45 with the Optima mini-dot this weekend at 8 yards.

Posted By: mikefrompa

Re: Red Dot advice on my S&W 629 - 11/08/2011 12:56 AM

Try the Ultra dot. It has a 4 moa dot which is great for hunting. For a few dollars more you can get the one with the multi dot size.
Posted By: 500WE

Re: Red Dot advice on my S&W 629 - 11/08/2011 12:35 PM

I've had this 1" Ultra Dot on this 6 1/2" 629 for more than 20 years, and remain very satisfied with it:

Posted By: Darrell H

Re: Red Dot advice on my S&W 629 - 11/08/2011 12:50 PM

I can recommend the Ultradot:

and the Burris FastFire II:

Best of luck with whatever you decide!

Re: Red Dot advice on my S&W 629 - 11/08/2011 8:41 PM

Thanks for all of the advice everybody! Will hopefully be making the decision this weekend.
Posted By: asquires2