Handgunhunt

Which reflex dot sight for a 41 Mag Blackhawk?

Posted By: Chance Weldon

Which reflex dot sight for a 41 Mag Blackhawk? - 12/27/2016 9:57 PM

After shooting my 41 Magnum Ruger Blackhawk a few times, I decided that it could use an optic to shoot it more accurately, since I'm not that good with open sights. Earlier this year, Whitworth mentioned that Weigand offers a no-drill mini mount designed for small reflex style red dot. I've considered an Ultradot L/T and Leupold Deltapoint, and my local store had a Vortex Venom that looked pretty nice.

What sight would you recommend?
Posted By: Boot

Re: Which reflex dot sight for a 41 Mag Blackhawk? - 12/27/2016 10:43 PM

I have several Burris Fastfire 3 units on a few different guns. None have ever given me a bit of trouble. The one on my SBHH 44 was dropped (with the gun) and never lost zero, despite bending the aluminum frame of the sight a bit. I am quite pleased with the Fastfire 3.
As a side note, the Weigand mini mount you mentioned just arrived at my house to go on a Blackhawk 357. I haven't installed the mount yet, but it will wear a FF3 when I get time to put it all together.
Posted By: PsTaN

Re: Which reflex dot sight for a 41 Mag Blackhawk? - 12/27/2016 11:59 PM

I'm quite interested in that particular mount ... do let us know your thoughts on how solid it is.
Posted By: Whitworth

Re: Which reflex dot sight for a 41 Mag Blackhawk? - 12/28/2016 12:56 AM

I've been using both that mount and the Ultradot L/T for some time now on a .45 Colt that has been fed a steady diet of heavy loads for some time now. So far so good.....

Posted By: Seminole Wind

Re: Which reflex dot sight for a 41 Mag Blackhawk? - 12/28/2016 2:58 AM

The mini mount and an Eotech MRDS has been great on a SBH with 300 gr cast bullets at 1250 fps.
Posted By: Randominator

Re: Which reflex dot sight for a 41 Mag Blackhawk? - 12/28/2016 2:46 PM