Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
OK OK .... I get the point. #92924 10/04/2011 3:52 AM
Raptortrapper Offline OP
Shooting Master
OP Offline
Shooting Master
Ok guys. As many of you know, I am new to reloading, and have been looking at a progressive press. HOWEVER... The 100% consensus is to use a single stage or turret press. Still not sure I know the difference between a single stage and a turret, but that is besides the point.

So, being that I would rather learn from the mistakes of others, and not repeat them myself, I have started looking in to the single stage presses. When looking at progressive presses, I was told that Dillon makes the best presses available today. So I figured their single stage press must be pretty good to (Plus I like the color blue a lot more than I do red or green).
I found a press on their website called the BL550 Basic. It says on the website it is a turret press, which I think means the same as single stage, but not sure. Anyway, it has the ability to be made in to a progressive press later on if I should choose to do so. It takes the addition of two parts I think to make it a progressive. I figure that way, If I DO want to go progressive later on, I can just add a couple components to that press, and not have to buy a second complete setup.

Has anyone used this press, and is this the same as what you guys are talking about? To me, it looks different than the RCBS and LEE press, but I don't exactly know what I'm looking at.

Also, I am not a believer in kits. I find that more often than not, even though it may be a cheaper way to get started, It costs more in the long run cause things often wear out much faster than just buying quality stuff the first time around. BUT... if your experience with any of the reloading kits says otherwise, I'm open to suggestions.

Thanks again!!! You guys are a HUGE source of help for me on this stuff. It is certainly greatly appreciated.

Last edited by raptortrapper; 10/04/2011 5:45 AM.