Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
What am I doing wrong #97156 12/06/2011 4:49 PM
irishthunder50 Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
So I have been shooting for about 3 years now. I shoot about 4 times a month. At least every weekend. Here is my issue. I cant shoot accurately with a handgun past 15yards. I have a pretty big assortment of handguns but mostly ones geared towards self defense so most of my shooting is done between 7-15 yards. And When I shoot from that distance I get very very nice groups as long as I do my part. Well when I baught my Taurus 44 .44Mag I was shooting that at 7-15yards and was gettin pretty decent groups. Whenever I try shooting it at 25 yards my rounds go all over the place. Does anyone have any pointers. I know I need to shoot more at longer ranges and I plan on it but the groups I was getting were pretty huge for only adding 10yards to my distance, like 3 1/2- 4inch groups. Appreciate any pointers ya'll can throw my way

Re: What am I doing wrong [Re: irishthunder50] #97160 12/06/2011 5:12 PM
s4s4u Offline
Shootist
Shootist
Are you using irons? It can take some practice getting a consistant sight picture with some iron sights as the distance increases. I would suggest trying a red dot sight and see if that helps. The only guns I don't have some kind of optic on anymore are my PD carry guns.

Rod, too.

Short cuts often lead to long recoveries.
Re: What am I doing wrong [Re: s4s4u] #97170 12/06/2011 5:39 PM
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
I am shooting Irons. Dont really plan on adding a optic to the gun. I just want to get proficent with it. Just not sure if I am doin something wrong since I am pretty new at shooting revolvers

Re: What am I doing wrong [Re: irishthunder50] #97176 12/06/2011 6:27 PM
WVShiner329 Offline
irishthunder50,
Have a friend load your revolver for you while at the range but leave a chamber or 2 or 3 empty so you don't know when it's gonna go bang.