Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
AK black bear hunt-spring 2013 #116508 08/26/2012 2:42 PM
Dewphd Offline OP
OP Offline
I am thinking about a spring 2013 black bear hunt in AK. I have never done this type of hunt before but would like to give it a shot (no pun intended). Thinking of going to the following lodge: http://www.greenrockslodge.com. Anyone have ANY feedback on this endeavor?

Thanks!

Dan

Re: AK black bear hunt-spring 2013 [Re: Dewphd] #116510 08/26/2012 3:27 PM
Gary Offline
Distinguished Master
Distinguished Master
4 of us hunted there this past May and knowing what I know now, I would have some concerns booking a hunt out of a permanent lodge for a coastal hunt and especially so without a lot of knowledge about the waterways surrounding the lodge. How far will you have to travel by boat to get to an area that hasn't been hunted hard already. What's the exposure (facing direction) of the majority of the area. The grass on many of the beaches is spotty and there can be miles of rocky beach that just isn't going to have grass. Even a couple miles in a small open boat can be a significant challenge up there and the weather can change on a dime so you have a lot to think about if you're going venture into some of the larger fjords and possibly end up a long way from camp on a slick morning. Personally I would rather get set up in a drop camp in a remote area but I know that's not for everyone. We hunted a remote area and were very successful and we talked to a lot of hunters in the airports and around town when we got back and we were far more successful than anyone else we talked to. I didn't talk to anyone else that hunted from a drop camp and we saw no one else in 6 days of hunting. I would be doing a lot of looking at a map of that area. Even though we were hunting a wilderness area the 4 of us were still set up in two camps about 6 miles apart. If we hadn't been our success rate would not have been what it was.