Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Newbie Advice #116593 08/28/2012 12:13 AM
geoexchange Offline OP
OP Offline
I guess I'm not a newbie to firearms or specifically pistols, but I am REALLY a newbie to handgun hunting with a revolver. I recently purchased a SRH in 44mag, changed trigger return spring, and ordered an UltraDot. Plan on hog hunting in October in Oklahoma.

1. I normally shoot bullseye league (with a 1911) and do OK (300's) with it. Is it normal to have a LONG learning curve with the 44? I seem to be able to hold a nice 3 or 4 shot group, then blow the other 2 or 3. I am trying to really focus on the front sight and trigger squeeze, but groups are about 4-5" at 25 yards, (all unsupported) Not good enough, in my opinion, but again - I'm a newbie to this 44 thing!

2. Regarding first question, I have not purchased 44 dies for my press yet, but will quickly with the cost of ammunition! I noticed that using Fiocchi 240 SJSP I can hold closer to 3" groups unsupported. Win white box as good or better. Cheap Blazer opens up to 5" groups, all 240 sjsp. Is it normal to have such a difference, or am I just still needing a LOT more practice?

3. Is there a huge difference in factory 44 ammo? All mentioned Fiocchi, Win, and Blazer "felt" way different. Blazer was very mild recoil, Fiocchi not bad, one box of Win a little harsher, and one box of Winchester - again, same load - felt like I just slammed a hammer into my palm, sending a a jolt up my arm! Needless to say, that box got put aside, I can't imagine THAT much of a difference.

I have at least 500 rounds downrange so far, but none supported. My Ultradot comes in Wednesday, and I will bench it to see what happens. I guess I just need more range time - and realize that it's not the same as my 1911!

Any and all advice appreciated. At 43, I've learned that I have a lot to learn.

NRA Pistol Instructor
NRA Personal Protection Instructor
NRA RSO
NRA Shotgun Coach Level I