Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Encore problem-- barrel opened when fired #117598 09/10/2012 1:32 AM
Raptortrapper Offline OP
Shooting Master
OP Offline
Shooting Master
So what causes the barrel to fly open when I fire off a round? Did it to me the first time, and I figured maybe I didn't have it completely closed. Highly unlikely cause the hammer wouldn't have cocked if it wasn't closed properly. Fired it three more times, and it did it again on the fourth shot. This time, I stopped shooting, cleaned the gun, looked for anything obvious, and found nothing.

Any thoughts?? Is it improper shooting form or something?? I am new to these encores, so don't want to rule out operator error.

Thanks!

A lot of people are like a slinky: Not much fun till you push them down the stairs!

Lifetime Member of the NRA! Wish I'd a done it sooner.
Re: Encore problem-- barrel opened when fired [Re: Raptortrapper] #117599 09/10/2012 1:47 AM
punkinslinger Offline
enthusiast
enthusiast
I had a 375JDJ in a contender that did that after a hot load, had to send it in, I forget what exactly JD said, I believe it stretched the chamber enough, that it would not lock up properly, came back with a new barrel.

Did you put on a new forearm or any alterations since you last shot it?

I doubt it is improper shooting form, there is a mechanical problem somewhere.

Stop shooting it, for sure.

The good Lord gives us "Life" a "Window Of Opportunity" what we do with this opportunity, defines who we are and what we become.
Re: Encore problem-- barrel opened when fired [Re: punkinslinger] #117605 09/10/2012 2:21 AM
Raptortrapper Offline OP
Shooting Master
OP Offline
Shooting Master
No, didn't change anything. The loads are all factory "scam" bullets-- the 200gr. FTX Hornady loads. That' all I've been shooting through this "break in" period since its a new barrel.

Gonna call MGM tomorrow and see what they say.

Thanks. At least I don't feel stupid now.