Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Reloading.... #8174 03/24/2005 3:26 PM
DakotaElkSlayer Offline OP
OP Offline
Need some reloading input... I have been reloading for a couple of years with my Lee Loaders for .45-70 and .280Rem. I really love the tool for these rifles since it is perfect for someone who shoots 100rds. or so a year.
After getting to take my Ruger Hunter to the range yesterday, I realize I need something faster since I will be shooting this thing at every opportunity. My question is... Would I be better off getting a single-stage turret press, or a progressive press? I know the progressive is faster, but I, without that much reloading experience, am also concerned about safety.

Thanks,

Jim

Re: Reloading.... [Re: DakotaElkSlayer] #8175 03/24/2005 4:12 PM
fanner50 Offline
journeyman
journeyman
I now use a single stage Lee press but had a Lee 1000 and loved it. It is fast and if you get the disc stacking option and an extra set of discs you can fine tune your loading. It won't let you make a mistake as it must have a case in place to work properly. Every pull of the handle makes a round. The only reason I don't have it now is I had to down size. The single stage is less expensive and with the addition of an Auto-prim & powder measurer I can produce a sufficiant amount of ammo. Which ever way you decide Lee equipment is great. Good shooting. - Gary(fanner50)

Re: Reloading.... [Re: fanner50] #8176 03/24/2005 4:31 PM
Vance in AK. Offline
Pooh-Bah
Pooh-Bah
I'm with Gary on this.
I too had a Lee Progressive 1000 years ago when I shot IPSC competition. I probably loaded an average of 500 rds a week with it for a couple of years & it worked great.
If all you want to use a press for is the handgun, I'd say go with it.
If you want to be able to load for your rifles too, you will want to go with a single stage or a turret.
If you go single stage, the Lee "Anniversary" press set & a set of Lee carbide dies will get you started for under $100.