Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Did you handgun or bowhunt first? #8756 05/15/2005 4:16 PM
DakotaElkSlayer Offline OP
OP Offline
Just curious on this... I am relatively new to bowhunting. That "close and personal" relationship to the prey in bowhunting compelled me to buy a pistol this spring for hunting during rifle season this year.
I LOVE shooting my bow, but I haven't shot more than twice since my revolver arrived. I have become totally addicted to shooting and reloading this thing!!!

Jim

Re: Did you handgun or bowhunt first? [Re: DakotaElkSlayer] #8757 05/15/2005 7:36 PM
magman Offline
old hand
old hand
I started off with bowhunting cuz, handgun hunting wasn't allowed where I was stationed(New Jersey). Now that I am in New York, the handgun mecca by the way, I hunt with both. I find myself practicing more frequesntly with my handgun an with my bow, just cause I like shooting my handguns. I always get plenty of bow practice before season, but I don't shot year round like I do with my handguns.

NRA LIFE MEMBER NAHC LIFE MEMBER
Re: Did you handgun or bowhunt first? [Re: magman] #8758 05/15/2005 7:56 PM
7STDUBBERU Offline
enthusiast
enthusiast
I also started bowhunting first, just because of my age. Then not now . I love shooting my Matthews but the handguns, actually all guns win out as far as "practice". But there is nothing like sending an arrow thru the rib cage of a nice whitetail buck. But then again it is nice to let the air out of a buck with a peestol shooting my handloads.... Boy I can't wait for October. I am going to watch a Realtree video to get my whitetail fix

NEVER FORGET 9-11-01
Re: Did you handgun or bowhunt first? [Re: 7STDUBBERU] #8759 05/15/2005 11:25 PM
Tigger Offline
Distinguished Expert
Distinguished Expert