Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Recoil Sensitive #800 02/22/2004 1:26 PM
Chief RID Offline OP
OP Offline
There, I said it, I admit it. I am recoil sensitive. I have been shooting this 44 SBH for about 3 years now and I can't hold a group, no matter what, with moderate to heavy loads.

It was 60 degrees yesterday and I had some stuff loaded so off I went. I have a H-110 load for my 1894 that I have been working on so I had to fire a couple in the SBH. OK, I could probably hold for the first shot on a whitetail with it but shoot a group. Forget it. I had loaded some (5) 44 Spl with a 240 gr Hornady SWC over 5.6 gr. of Universal. Stood firmly at 25 yds, off hand mind you, and put 4 inside of 2 inches with the 5th spreading it to 4 inches.

I guess now that all this load development is over I can get down to just shooting in field situations and maybe I will become a handhun hunter but the 44 may never be the caliber for me.

Re: Recoil Sensitive [Re: Chief RID] #801 02/22/2004 3:10 PM
Vance in AK. Offline
Pooh-Bah
Pooh-Bah
Hi Chief.
I have the same problem. My mod. 29 beats my hands with heavy stuff in short order. My hands are actually sore after. BUT!!..., I finally got a pair of Uncle Mikes padded shooting gloves & man what a difference. My hot(1250 - 1300fps) 300 gr loads feel like mid range 240 gr loads as far as the hand goes. Next is Magnaport.
You might give the gloves a try. I think they're less that $30.00 a pair,(maybe closer to $20.00) from Natchez Shooters Supply.
Vance in AK.

Vance in AK.

Matthew 6:33
"But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you."
Re: Recoil Sensitive [Re: Chief RID] #802 02/22/2004 3:25 PM
Wally Offline
stranger
stranger