Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
MAGNUM PRIMERS #133664 06/30/2013 4:33 AM
Gregg Richter Offline OP
Distinguished Expert
OP Offline
Distinguished Expert
So what is the scoop on using these vs. standard primers in magnum pistol/handgun cartidges?

Seems like there is some discreptancy in what reloaders use in handgun cartridges: magnum or standard handgun calibers, vs. primers; magnum or standard...???

NOT asking about rifle primers in pistol cases!!!

And then throw in the spoiler: Winchester WLP primers designated on the box as "LARGE PISTOL FOR STANDARD OR MAGNUM PISTOL LOADS."

Yes, I have been reloading for 48 years: shotgun, rifle and pistol. But I ask this in good faith: Does anybody know the real ballistic stuff behind this? And of course I realize that internal (infernal) ballistics is a study on its own.

Thanks for your feedback in advance.

Gregg

Re: MAGNUM PRIMERS [Re: Gregg Richter] #133668 06/30/2013 12:43 PM
240 Offline
enthusiast
enthusiast
Greg,
I know what you mean. I was reloading for my .38 spl and was only able to find Small Pistol Magnum Match primers. I wasn't looking to make +P loads, so I reduced my powder charge by a half grain as recommended by the powder manufactures. Worked out fine. I haven't been able to crono these loads, but I dont see any adverse effect after firing them. These .38's were for an old J frame that I wouldn't run +P load threw.
I only have 5 years reloading under my belt so take my advise at your own risk...

Re: MAGNUM PRIMERS [Re: 240] #133681 06/30/2013 5:13 PM
rlb Offline
old hand
old hand
I'll check the next time I make it to the range with my 44. I have CCI mag and some WLPs. I might have some CCI standards also.

Re: MAGNUM PRIMERS [Re: Gregg Richter] #133682 06/30/2013 6:12 PM
s4s4u Offline
Shootist
Shootist
 Quote:
Winchester WLP primers designated on the box as "LARGE PISTOL FOR STANDARD OR MAGNUM PISTOL LOADS."

If it takes a large pistol primer, those are all I use.

Rod, too.