Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
reloading die question..... questions #148619 08/15/2014 12:15 AM
nytracker Offline OP
addict
OP Offline
addict
I am new to reloading. I am having some problems that I was sure was caused by me. Now I am not so sure it is me. First I am loading 44 mag. First step resize and decap once fired brass and resize np. Check case length 1.282 . Set expander and flare just enough to start bullet. Set die and adjust seating depth np set crimp as per rcbs directions crimp a little at a time . I get a a decent crimp just need a little more .... and I buckle the case. Now I set this up 8 times and still buckle the case. Call rcbs... guy goes through set up procedure on the phone walks me through it step by step still buckles the case. Guy was great great customer service. Says he doesnt know perhaps cut back case a little try again. Set up case trimmer , sized case wont fit over piolet. Measure piolet it reads .426 check sized case, not belled it measures . 421. Call rcbs back and ask what a sized case should measure after resizing. I get it could very... . If I would like I can ship my die set and have them inspected but theres probably nothing wrong. First question what should a properly sized case read id. Could to long a case cause buckling?
Next question my redding case trimmer says to trim after sizing ... before belling. Rcbs rep says to trim after belling... How does that give you an accurate trim length.... and it contradicts rcbs printed directions... ?
Oh if it helps I am trying to load 240 grain cmj bullets that have a really light cannelure..the buckling is occurring half way down the case not at the cannelure.

Last edited by nytracker; 08/15/2014 1:27 AM.

Save liberals from them selves, stich their sphincter closed so they cant talk out their arse
Re: reloading die question..... questions [Re: nytracker] #148623 08/15/2014 12:51 AM
s4s4u Offline
Shootist
Shootist