Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
14" contender .223 bullet vs javelina/coyote,etc #9767 08/31/2005 2:26 AM
Bandit Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
Im new to reloading and trying to decide what the best bullets would be for my 14" contender .223 barrel for 3 purposes: Javelina, Coyote and possibly just standard small varmints. Most bullets seem to be designed w/ light jackets and dont seem to be suited for an animal as large as a Javelina. Ive seen a Javelina hit by another hunter using a .223 pistol and I believe the bullet used was likely too light, too thin of a jacket. They lost that javelina. What would you recommend for each use? Im wondering if you should use a different load for Coyote and Javelina. Javelina Im planning on keeping the meat for, so want something that I can use from 10ft to 100yrds, something that will kill the animal and not maim it, and try not to damage too much meat. As far as coyote goes, my only interest would be best chance of one shot kill, and if I got a good one with a nice coat..minimize pelt damage. Also, if you have any recommended loads, that'd be appreciatated. Im also trying to consider best bullet for cost. I see some notes on the web regarding Barnes and the Speer Trophy bonded bear claw, those are more expensive rounds but wondered if you had tried them? Please remember Im new to reloading, and would appreciate that you be specific regarding brand/model of bullet so Im clear on your replies.
I'll mainly be using this for my yearly javelina hunts. So thats what this subject was really meant to cover. Im also trying to decide if I should maybe just go with a heavier caliber. I know Javelina hair tends to plug up the entrance/exit wounds and Ive seen a hunter lose an animal due to lack of blood trail w/ archery & on a pistol hunt. I have several other choices: .41,.357, or 7-30waters as well.

Thanks,

Bandit/AZ

Re: 14" contender .223 bullet vs javelina/coyote,etc [Re: Bandit] #9768 08/31/2005 2:49 PM