Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Do SWC leave a blood trail? #164386 10/12/2015 4:06 PM
Sam86 Offline OP
enthusiast
OP Offline
enthusiast
Been reading some on the internet that SWC don't leave good blood trails. I also have read that most hollow points don't expand, and the same with soft point... Seems like everyone says something different then the next guy.

I have had some bad experiences with too heavy of bullets in rifles never expanding and deer running hundreds of years. Is this the same with handguns? I really want to try SWC's but I cant get the idea out of my head that they wont expand and wont leave blood and the deer will run 100+ yards. has anyone experienced this?

Re: Do SWC leave a blood trail? [Re: Sam86] #164387 10/12/2015 4:33 PM
billa Offline
old hand
old hand
If your goal is a blood trail keep in mind that most blood comes from the exit wound or the nostrils of a lung shot animal. Use a big enough round and a heavy bullet to realistically expect an exit wound. If the bullet is poorly placed or it does not exit you may get little or no blood. I strongly prefer a large caliber pass thru in any situation with any animal.
Getting back to your original point. It is likely that a poorly placed SWC that stays in the animal will not have much blood.

Second- a deer shot through the heart / lung area with any bullet could run 100+ yards even with a perfect shot. I never expect a DRT (dead right there) shot. If you want to anchor a deer you need to spine them or break both shoulders. Thats really hard on the meat supply.

"Therefore go and make disciples of all nations,... "
Matthew 28:19

Handgun hunter since 1979 - haven't used a rifle since!
HHI member #992, NRA, SCI.
Re: Do SWC leave a blood trail? [Re: billa] #164388 10/12/2015 4:39 PM
billa Offline
old hand
old hand