Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Some research information #167434 12/12/2015 9:34 PM
cottonstalk Offline OP
Pooh-Bah
OP Offline
Pooh-Bah
I have always loved a 1911, and carried the 45acp for protection a lot. I never considered it a hunting caliber. But in the last couple of years a few people I know have done a little hunting and testing but not anything extensive. So I thought I'd find out the possibilities. If you get your information off the internet, about 85% or more talk it up as a defensive weapon, but say it's an extremely poor choice for hunting.

So I studied the ballistics, done some shooting and set parameters. Only non alert critters, maximum range 40 yards, only broadside shots,which got changed after viewing performance. I had a few more self imposed limits but that were mine and didn't affect the results except it allowed a lot of critters to walk. One such limit was no shots after sunset. I got glasses this year and they have been a pain in my backside and hurt my confidence for a while, but I'm getting over it.

I tried a few different factory offerings of the 230 class and went with Hornady230+p xtp as they worked the best, with my at the moment fixed style sights. Two inch groups the norm opening up a little at 50.

Coyote was the first candidate to donate for research but unfortunately water and disposable cameras don't mix.

Candidate number two was an approximately 80# doe, through and through, twenty yard dash and into the freezer. Unfortunately it was photographed with above disposable as well.

Candidate three was a six point weighing 140#, hit in the only place he provided the neck. The pojectIle smashed two vertebrae and continued to beyond as it was not recovered. The candidate can be viewed on the bragging board.

That's all for now as I am awaiting new candidates as I type this. To be cont.....

"If you get to thinkin' you're a person of some influence,try orderin' someone else's dog around" unknown cowboy