Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Thinking About Hand Loading #177419 01/12/2017 4:27 PM
ScoutV2 Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi All,

I am new to the hand loading concept. I am also new to handgun hunting and am hooked! I currently have a CVA in 44 Mag and am looking at getting an Encore possibly in 357 maximum.

Can anyone suggest the best way for a beginner to start hand loading keeping in mind 44 Mag and 357 maximum will be the two rounds I am looking at for starting.

Will also take any suggestions on the 357 maximum or any other cartridges comparable to this one.

Thanks!

Re: Thinking About Hand Loading [Re: ScoutV2] #177421 01/12/2017 5:28 PM
karl Offline
old hand
old hand
Welcome to Reloading!
A couple thoughts
FYI, I mostly load bottle neck cartridges and reload for accuracy, bullet selection (spire point bullets in 30-30) and cost (hunt with copper bullets) so these comments come from that experience.

1) If you can find someone local with experience to mentor you in person a few times that will help a lot. After that, Youtube and places like this are great resources.

2) I got into it with a basic "kit" for ~$300 if I can remember. Shooting for a single shot pistol means that you can easily start with a single stage press and load enough in an evening to provide several hours or more of fun at the range.

-Get at least one good reloading manual. Most of them have a front section which walks you through the reloading process with steps, instructions and pictures before giving you a bunch of reloading recipes in the back of the book that the publishers have deemed "safe" in good condition firearms. I forget which ones I find most useful, but it will also depend on the platform (rifle or pistol) and cartridge you use.