Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
10mm AUTO reloading #182046 07/15/2017 3:28 PM
Igor Offline OP
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
Just bought Glock 20 Gen 4 in 10mm Auto hoping to have good back up and hunting gun in one. Read a lot about unsupported barrel and "Glock smile" especially with hot 10mm loads.
Does anyone have experience with how many times 10mm case can be reloaded and used from Glock with factory barrel? Any experience with full and/or mild load is more than welcome!

Re: 10mm AUTO reloading [Re: Igor] #182052 07/16/2017 11:57 AM
Randominator Offline
enthusiast
enthusiast
I have a Glock 20SF that I've been hunting with for 6 years. I can't comment on the factory barrel, as I replaced mine with a 6" KKM when I acquired the pistol.

My primary loads are 180 grain JHP's and 190 grain WFNGC's. I run all my handloads through the Lee "pass through sizing die". Never had an issue with smilies.

NRA Life Member
HHI Member
VHA Member

"get busy living, or get busy dying"
Re: 10mm AUTO reloading [Re: Randominator] #182099 07/20/2017 11:17 PM
Walkingthemup Offline
addict
addict
I've been thinking of getting a G40 so the same issue is of interest to me. If I was in the US I'd simply buy a LWD barrel and no more problem. Unfortunately export licence fees/paperwork/permits etc add several hundred dollars to the price making it impractical. Hoping someone can answer the question on case life with 10mm loads in the factory barrel.

Re: 10mm AUTO reloading [Re: Walkingthemup] #182172 07/26/2017 2:01 PM
Bob Roach Offline
old hand
old hand
I doubt that you will get much of a Bulge with Book Loads or factory ammunition. Loading data for the 10mm seem to have been watered down some over the last 25 years.

I also think the newer Gen 3 and 4 Glocks are better supported than the older ones. With that said.

Reloading for the 10mm in a Glock Hunting Handgun: