Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hardcast #196346 12/01/2018 8:00 PM
hfischer Offline OP
OP Offline
Seems like hardcast is very popular. I have no experience with hardcast. Have always used hollowpoint. Always figure bigger hole is better and figured without expansion bullet won?t kill as well or do as much damage. Have notice last couple deer shot haven?t gotten pass thru and no blood trail. Both shoulder shots. Have been considering hard cast for bloodtrail but still leery about no expansion. Will be getting 480 shortly for bigger hole and seems like most ammo available is hardcast. Guess looking for opinions from people with experience with hardcast bullets and 480 ruger.

Re: Hardcast [Re: hfischer] #196352 12/01/2018 9:33 PM
racksmasher1 Offline
veteran
veteran
You will get some good ideas here, I use the Lee,325 grain mold in my 480, just bought the 400 grain mold, i?ll play with that this winter.

Re: Hardcast [Re: racksmasher1] #196354 12/01/2018 10:16 PM
45MAN Offline
Pooh-Bah
Pooh-Bah
"HARD CAST" IS USED AS IF IT MEANS SOME MYTHICAL FAILSAFE CAST BULLET. "HARD CAST" IS AN UMBRELLA TERM FOR AN INFINITE VARIETY OF LEAD ALLOYS, SOME OF WHICH WORK BETTER THAN OTHERS. OTBC MAKES SOME PRETTY GOOD "HARD CAST" BULLETS, AS DO OTHER COMMERCIAL CASTERS. ONCE YOU FIGURE OUT WHAT VELOCITY YOU WANT THEN YOU CAN SEEK ADVICE ON THE BETTER HARDCAST BULLETS FOR THAT VELOCITY. THERE WAS AN EARLIER THREAD ON "CAST BULLETS: HOW FAST IS TOO FAST". GENERALLY, I BELIEVE ONCE YOU GET TO 1,300 fps YOU ARE GOING TOO FAST FOR CAST BULLETS. THERE ARE GUYS HERE WHO KNOW WAY MORE THAN I DO ABOUT CAST BULLETS, HOPEFULLY SIXSHOT WILL GET ON AND PROVIDE YOU WITH A TUTORIAL.

"ADAPT OR DIE". I USE ALL CAPS, NOT BECAUSE I AM YELLING, BUT BECAUSE IT IS AN OLD HABIT FROM MY ARMY DAYS, PLUS IT IS EASIER TO TYPE AND READ.
Re: Hardcast [Re: 45MAN] #196363 12/02/2018 4:13 AM
Bob Roach Offline
old hand
old hand