Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Recommendations for deer & hog hunting handgun? #13052 02/07/2006 9:11 PM
elnor Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
I am new to hunting big game with a handgun, though I have hunted squirrels with a .22 revolver in my youth and taken deer and turkeys with rifle and shotgun over the years since. A recent surprise encounter with a big boar while toting only a .22, however, has made me reconsider having a bigger hunting handgun on my hip.

I plan to hunt whitetail deer and hogs with whatever handgun I pick. My major requirements are:
(1) Enough energy for hogs and deer out to 200 yds, and if feasible given other constraints below, elk too
(2) Flatter trajectory than 30-06, preferably with a point blank range around 250-300 yds
(3) Light enough recoil that my wife, who's comfortable with 30-30 recoil but shys away from my 300WSM long gun, wouldn't mind shooting a rifle chambered in the same caliber as my pistol-to-be

Right now I'm thinking about getting T/C Encore in 7mm-08 Remington. Thoughts or recommendations?

Thanks in advance for any ideas and assistance you can provide

Re: Recommendations for deer & hog hunting handgun? [Re: elnor] #13053 02/07/2006 9:23 PM
nmhunter Offline
enthusiast
enthusiast
7mm-08 will do the job, but I prefer a little more oomph!
If I was wanting something in a 15" encore and a rifle for my better half , I would look either at a 284 winchester or a 308 winchester, and lean more towards the 308. Out to 200 yds it will do a great job and easy to reload as well. and 308 ammo is available almost anywhere
nmhunter

Re: Recommendations for deer & hog hunting handgun? [Re: elnor] #13054 02/08/2006 1:22 AM
Gary Offline
Distinguished Master
Distinguished Master