Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
locker hinge pin or over sized pin for encore #19301 03/06/2007 5:56 PM
medic404 Offline OP
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
thinking of trying one on my encore does anyone have any feedback on the use of the locker pin or oversized pins

Re: locker hinge pin or over sized pin for encore [Re: medic404] #19302 03/06/2007 7:44 PM
bisleyfan44 Offline
veteran
veteran
bellm says do it.
eabco says no way.
who knows?

www.bellmtcs.com
www.eabco.com

you can probably guess what t/c says.
personally, i don't see much need for them. none of my bbls have any slop in them, or not enough to tell anyway. i think t/c keeps the tolerances pretty close.

I'll gladly pay you Tuesday for a handgun today.
Re: locker hinge pin or over sized pin for encore [Re: medic404] #19303 03/06/2007 8:19 PM
Dan B. Offline
Distinguished Expert
Distinguished Expert
I've been shooting Contenders for over 10 years and had likely a dozen frames and 50 barrels. Any that would not shoot had problems that were NOT hinge pic related. Mostly chamber or crown issues that T/C remedied w/ a new barrel or repair.

I'd go with T/C's reccommendation and say "nay" to the oversized pin.

Re: locker hinge pin or over sized pin for encore [Re: Dan B.] #19304 03/06/2007 9:03 PM
Vance in AK. Offline
Pooh-Bah
Pooh-Bah
My thought is this.
If the 1st oversize pin fits without reaming why notuse it & tighten up tolersnces a bit?
I intend to oreder one to try in mine. If you pull the forearm off, turn the gun on it's side when open, & shake you can get the pin to walk part way out. When the gun is assembled & you open the action you can wiggle the end of the barrel sideways about 3/8". I can honestly see close to 1/8" lateral movement looking at the locking lugs & fireing pin retainer with the action open!
It may or may not hurt the accuracy (haven't had a chance to shot this gun yet. Hopefull Friday), but the slop still bothers me.
Wouldn't ream the frame though.

Vance in AK.