Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Scope question for new G2 #19898 04/20/2007 5:35 PM
PC730 Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
Question from a brand new handgunner. Browsing great info on this site drove me to buy a new G2 with 7-30 W 14" barrel. It appears that was the easy part. I'm ready to scope it now and could use advice. As a newbie, I really don't anticipate taking shots at the distances you veterans can handle. My question is...fixed or variable for a beginner? Would you recommend a fixed 4X (instead of a 2-7X variable) for shots up to 100 yds (if I reach that level of proficiency) since I wouldn't have the issue of changing eye relief to contend with? I wonder about difficulty in locating a moving target at close ranges with a 4X. I know I could use a variable set on 4X to begin with, but I'm concerned that the eye relief at that setting would be an uncomfortable distance for a beginner. It just seems I would be most comfortable with my arms extended when shooting the G2 for the first time. I understand that the Bushnell Elite 3200 variable has constant eye relief, but it seems that the Burris variables get higher grades from you guys. Any advice would be appreciated.

Re: Scope question for new G2 [Re: PC730] #19899 04/20/2007 6:42 PM
s4s4u Offline
Shootist
Shootist