Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
beginner ?'s #28362 04/19/2008 10:37 PM
cottonstalk Offline OP
Pooh-Bah
OP Offline
Pooh-Bah
I am relatively new to handgun hunting.I have taken a medium size buck with a rbh 44mag. @ 30 yrds with iron sights.It was my third hunt with a handgun and I haven't done much handgun hunting since.I have always enjoyed the S&W's and have gotten one.I am wanting to strictly handgun our 3 month season for white-tails this year so here are my questions.I can hit a pie plate everytime 6for6,at 50 yrds with iron sights.Is a scope a necessity?I was told as far as I could do that same kind of shooting up to 100yrds or so that would be my effective range.Comments welcome please.Next question is cast ammo v/s hollow points,flat points,all copper,platinum etc.?I have acquired 300+rounds of cast ammo over 23.5grns of powder in Texas nickel brass.Would this ammo be effective on deer?I will be shooting S&W 629-1 w/6" barrel.Thanks for all the help.

Last edited by cottonstalk; 04/19/2008 10:39 PM.

"If you get to thinkin' you're a person of some influence,try orderin' someone else's dog around" unknown cowboy
Re: beginner ?'s [Re: cottonstalk] #28366 04/19/2008 11:50 PM
TCTex. Offline
Shootist
Shootist
Scopes are personal. My Dad uses scopes on handguns because of his eyes. The scope puts the sight picture on one plan and he does well. On the other hand, a scope will help the most to extend your shooting times and dusk and dawn. Keep in mind that your group size might increase a little when that deer walks out in front of you. I shoot a 22 a lot off hand to practice. Half of my shots from tree stands have been off hand so that is how I do a lot of my practicing. A scope would require the same type of practice to get use to it. One thing you can do at home that will REALLY help is use “snap caps.” They help a lot with trigger control. They will make it very obvious how you are depressing the trigger.