Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
bullets for deer? #59204 11/18/2009 1:16 PM
44happy Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
Hey GUYS, I'm new to the handgun hunting world. Decided to give it a try for the first time this year for deer season. Bought a ruger super redhawk in 44 mag. worked up a accurate load with a hornady 240gr xtp at about 1200fps.
Last weekend I was able to harvest a nice 4x5 muledeer buck, but was not very impressed with how long it took to expire. When I was shooting at it, you would swear that I wasn't even hitting it, not even a flinch from the deer. After about aminute or two the deer wobbled and went down to my surprise.
When I opened the deer up, I had hit him in the lungs with one bullet and in the heart with the other.I had full penetration through the chest cavity.
I guess I;m just used to my rifle where the animals expire very fast or on the spot, but my question is, Is this normal for handgun hunting? Could I be using a better bullet and get faster results?

Re: bullets for deer? [Re: 44happy] #59205 11/18/2009 1:32 PM
Dan B. Offline
Distinguished Expert
Distinguished Expert
It seems that you had excellent shot placement. You also had a very tried and true handgun bullet for the .44 Mag. XTPs are awesome. Sometimes game does goofy things that just can not be explained...seems as though this is the case.

I've taken five animals so far this year (three lope, one badger and one turkey) and the furthest one went after the shot was about 30 feet. Time from impact to expiration was maybe three seconds.

Exodus 20:5-11
Matthew 5:18
Revelation 22:14

ISPBS--Expert Level

Please don't use e-mail, contact me w/ PM.
Re: bullets for deer? [Re: Dan B.] #59213 11/18/2009 3:48 PM
az_shooter Offline
journeyman
journeyman
Like Dan B. said, sometimes goofy things happen. Next year I would give a good WFN or LFN hard cast bullet a try, with the type of hits you made I have always found the animal to expire in a matter of seconds.