Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
G2 or Encore, pros & cons #65438 02/28/2010 8:14 AM
240 Offline OP
enthusiast
OP Offline
enthusiast
G2 or Encore for a scoped handgun? Does one have a nicer trigger than the other? Better grip? etc? I plan on shooting straight walled cart. here in southern MI. I seem to run across more used contender barrels, so Im leaning that way. Anything in the Encore I might be overlooking?

Re: G2 or Encore, pros & cons [Re: 240] #65440 02/28/2010 12:54 PM
silly goose Offline
journeyman
journeyman
I am new to the T/C's, but have a contender(not g2) and an encore. In my limited experience, I like the contender better, just because it is lighter and more compact, as well as it has a much better trigger, but this may just be between the two I have. And I am not looking for the super duperest to shoot 300 yards either. I think the only real advantage to the encore is the ability to shoot more potent cartridges, and possibly the weight to soak up a bit of recoil. The biggest deciding factor is what cartridges you would like to shoot, as well as how do they feel in your hand. The guys on this board will set you up soon enough, but thats my limited opinion. It would break my heart to choose between the two. Good luck.

I went from pow to Boom. I love the BOOM!
Re: G2 or Encore, pros & cons [Re: 240] #65441 02/28/2010 2:07 PM
s4s4u Offline
Shootist
Shootist
The Contender has a much better trigger, lighter weight, smaller grip and shorter reach to the trigger. The Encore is better suited to anchor my duck boat, IMO. The G2 has the strength to handle most straightwall chamberings, if you can't kill it with a 45/70 it can't be killed. True, the Encore will handle more but how much more will you need. I prefer bolt guns for the bigger bottlenecks as they are inherently more accurate than the Encore. I know there are a lot of Encore lovers out there, but I am not one of them. Get the G2.

Rod, too.

Short cuts often lead to long recoveries.