Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Ok, ?s for the 6mm cartridge fans. #69873 05/20/2010 12:02 PM
SKR Offline OP
OP Offline
I've mentioned my MOA 6.5x284 on order.

I think one of the results from the wait for the gun to get completed is that it makes Rich more money. LOL (but realize this isnt his bread and butter so not suggesting its on purpose)

TOO much time to think about things like:

"Hey.......while I'm at it, why not order ANOTHER barrel?"

At first jump, I thought 22-250 just because its a good varminter, seems to be pretty easy to get good groups with (Im not an expert reloader)and I have brass and dies.

But........

While varminting, fun shooting would be the first and main purpose of said barrel, I CANNOT use it for deer HERE...just for giggles, if I wanted due to regs requiring a ".243 diameter bullet and larger" in handgun rounds.

So, up for grabs is the 243 Win, 243 AI (more for case longevity than anything else)and the 6x47Lapua that is making waves as of late. Another is the 6mm/250. Hey, I GOT BRASS lol. It doesnt appear to be "that bad" a round from ballistics I see online?? Even a 250 AI looks pretty interesting for a multi purpose round.

First and foremost question is am I going to NEED a muzzle brake on a 14 inch or longer bull barrel so I can use a rifle scope with any of them? Money is a bit TIGHT.

Normally bullet weights would be 70 ish grain but would like to be able to shoot heavier ones too for deer if I so choose. Ranges NORMALLY will be under 400 but this LONG range stuff (like the MOA shoot) is starting to get hard to ignore.

I think ALL would "work fine" but since so MANY here have given me so much great info (some of which I would have missed in my own research)I thought I would,once again, ask.

So, if you have preference or have shot them to compare, give me the low down on your opinion????