Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Iron Sights VS. 2X Scope #73652 08/21/2010 4:29 PM
TomG Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
I hunt a lot...bow, rifle, shotgun and handgun....because I am retired. When I step out my back door I have 200 acres of prairie and wooded ravines. All of my handgun hunting has been with iron sights-- Ruger Mark II with a 5 1/2 bull barrel, Ruger .357 mag GP-100 with a 6 inch barrel and a .44 mag Ruger Redhawk with a 7 1/2 inch barrel. I've been using a handgun for hunting for about 30 years and have done OK keeping my shooting range to bow hunter distances.

I just purchased a new .44 mag Bisley Hunter with the intention of scoping it. It's such a darn "purty" gun I am having second thoughts about the scope. :-)

I got into handgun hunting because I found that when I was in heavy cover, a scoped rifle was not all that handy.

My question (finally). In heavy cover do you run into problems using a scope? Most of my handgun hunting is for whitetail deer. My typical shot in heavy cover occurs when a deer "busts out" of his/her bed. The area where I most often handgun hunt is very shaded.

Any comments.

It's all good: handgun, rifle and bow.
Re: Iron Sights VS. 2X Scope [Re: TomG] #73658 08/21/2010 6:22 PM
TCTex. Offline
Shootist
Shootist
Welcome Aboard Tom!!!

Just like shooting with iron sights a scope requires practice to be efficient. I would suggest going out in your back yard with snap caps and try to find birds while they are flying. It works! When I first started hunting with a scoped rifle I did the same thing. I honed those skills by putting the rifle scope on 20 power and still try to find the bird. But if you can find a bird while it is flying in the air, a walking deer or a beaded buck while your hart is pounding is going to be a lot easier. In fact it is going to be second nature.

JMHO

Duane

Democracy is two wolves and a lamb deciding what to have for dinner. Liberty is a well armed lamb
Benjamin Franklin