Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
New to Hunting with a Handgun #74677 09/17/2010 1:30 AM
WolfPT4 Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
Like the statement above says I am new to hunting with a handgun. I have been wanting to try it for a few years but I am actually going to give it a try this season. I could really use some tips and advice from the experts. I wanted to get a SBH .44 with 7 1/2 inch barrel but I settled with a SBH .44 with a 4 5/8. What are my advantages and disadvantages using that short of a barrel. I haven't shot a .44 mag in years so I plan on putting a couple hundred rounds of .44 spl and then move my way up to the .44 mag. I won't actually hunt with it until I am comfortable and have enough confidence to take game responsibly. When hunting I don't like wounding animals and would rather harvest them with a quick death. I believe I would be more comfortable with a cross draw chest holster but I could be wrong. So please throw some experienced advice my way. I know I have more questions but can't think of them at this time.

Semper Fi

Re: New to Hunting with a Handgun [Re: WolfPT4] #74683 09/17/2010 6:09 AM
Bob Roach Offline
old hand
old hand
Starting off with light loads is a good plan. If you reload I would get 44 magnum brass to start out with, and load light loads and work up. I would probably start loading with Unique powder and a load of around 850 fps till you get comfortable shooting it. I would switch to H110, Win 296, or AA#9 and a 240 Soft Point when you feel ready. You can work up with the slower powders also.