Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Need help w/sighting in my scope #78981 11/28/2010 10:11 PM
myv6mustang Offline OP
OP Offline
Hello,

I have been shooting my 50 AE desert eagle for about 3 months now. I have about 150 rounds through it as of today. I also purchased a leupold M8 2X pistol scope that i have mounted. I bore sighted it in and took it to the range to get the final sights. Two weeks ago i was shooting at 35-40 yds and got Ok groupings 10-12 inches...well i was able to finally hit the target as the gun is getting easier and easier to shoot. Today i backed my target up to 50 yds and it seems like every shot i fired dropped. I was getting about 6-7 inches of drop from 50 yds out with my desert eagle which didnt seem right. I am looking at my gear and i have a few thoughts. Let me know what you guys think and if you have any suggestions to offer.

1. Stance i am pretty solid here i have my arms stretch out supported on a bin so there is no movement.

2. Bullets. I am shooing rainer bullets that are about 1/2 the cost of speer bullets when it comes to reloading. Since there is no loading data for them i have been using Hordnady bullet data, that would propel the bullet @ around 1350 FPS. Could the cheaper bullet be the problem?

3. Scope settings. I seem to be a little on the slow end. I would fire 3 shots and give the gun a 5 min break and then 3 more shots. I checked and the shots were hitting low. I turned the Scope to the highest setting for hight...to the far max for U as noted on the scope and shots were still shooting low. If i turn towards the D does that lower my bullets point of impact?

Thats about all i can think of. I will be ordering some speer bullets in hopes that it will help with accuracy, vs the rainer bullets.

Should i move in closer maybe 25 yds until i can continually hit dead center and then slowly work my way out? Thanks for any help you guys can provide.

Sam